Know that you are loved

Last week I spent three days in El Salvador, three days packed with visits, with buying a stole and a processional Gospel book, and with a visit to Romero’s tomb.

Thursday night I spent in Suchitoto. Friday morning I saw Sister Peggy O’Neill at breakfast. We talked a bit. I felt particularly blessed by our thoughtful discussion on my coming ordination to the permanent diaconate.

As I left she gave me a great hug and said, “Know that you are loved.”

I was floored, partly because that is a message I need to hear – very day.

I need to remind myself that I am loved.

I don’t have to prove myself. I don’t have to be perfect.

I am loved.

I am loved by God.

And I experience the love of God in the love of so many people.

What a way to prepare for my ordination – remembering that I am loved.

 

One response to “Know that you are loved

  1. Pingback: Know that you are loved – part 2 | walk the way

Leave a Reply

