Remember

Never forget all the Lord’s blessings.
Psalm 103: 2

Today’s first reading from Exodus 1: 8-14, 22 begins with these auspicious words:

A new king, who knew nothing of Joseph, came to power in Egypt.

He knew nothing of how this Hebrew had preserved Egypt in the face of famine. All he knew is that these slaves were a threat; they were breeding like flies and might side with a foreign enemy who might attack Egypt. He presumed that they just wanted to escape.

I need so often to avoid being like the Pharaoh, forgetful of the way God works in my life. So, almost every Saturday morning when I read the psalms of Vigils from Benedictine Daily Prayer, I find myself pausing when I read Psalm 103: 2:

My soul give thanks to the Lord
and never forget all His blessings.

It is so easy for me to forget the blessings of the Lord. It is so easy to get absorbed in my problems or to think that I can do it all myself.

And so I need to be reminded all to often of the blessings of the Lord, the blessings that come in the midst of joys and sorrows, in the midst of suffering and healing, in the midst of poverty.

Perhaps that is why the Ignatian Examen begins with asking God to help you recall the moment of the day for which you are most grateful. There we can find God and learn to never forget the Lord’s blessings.

So each day we can call to mind, re-member the day, looking for the presence of God who brings us all blessings.

Leave a Reply

