Holy indifference

In his spiritual exercises St. Ignatius Loyola present his first principles and foundation. In one translation – excuse the non-inclusive language – it reads:

Man is created to praise, reverence, and serve God our Lord,
and by this means to save his soul.
The other things on the face of the earth are created for man
to help him in attaining the end for which he is created.
Hence, man is to make use of them
in so far as they help him in the attainment of his end,
and he must rid himself of them in as far as they prove a hindrance to him.
Therefore, we must make ourselves indifferent to all created things,
as far as we are allowed free choice and are not under any prohibition.
Consequently, as far as we are concerned,
we should not prefer health to sickness,
riches to poverty,
honor to dishonor,
a long life to a short life.
The same holds for all other things.
Our one desire and choice should be what is more conducive
to the end for which we are created.

Today I returned from a visit to Tegucigalpa. Our bishop in Santa Rosa, Monseñor Darwin Rudy Andino, had asked me to come with him to speak with Monseñor Juan José Pineda about something our bishop is proposing for me.

I went with a deep sense of what might best be called detachment.

I knew that what we would talk about might influence my future ministry.

Our bishop has proposed something that would possibly make my ministry more official and sacramental. But I felt a real holy indifference to what might result. What our bishop is proposing is something that I had not sought, but I am willing to pursue.

Monseñor Pineda was very welcoming – hugging everyone. I was surprised. But he is also very professional, being a canon lawyer. I appreciated his clarity and his straightforward approach.

I don’t think the meeting went as our bishop had hoped. I also shared a bit of our bishop’s hope. But I felt a great peace during the meeting and afterwards.

Where this will go, I do not know.

But I pray that God continues to grace me with the gift of holy indifference, holy detachment. But I also ask the grace to respond whole-heartedly to what God wants for me

So far it has been a great blessing.

Leave a Reply

