Stir into flame

Stir into flame the gift of God
2 Timothy 1: 6

 It’s a cold, rainy, foggy morning here in Plan Grande. Last night I was cold even with two blankets, not helped by stomach and intestinal problems that continue this morning.

DSC04130

I don’t feel like doing anything but have to go into Santa Rosa, even though that will mean muddy roads (and putting the car into four wheel drive and getting muddy in the process.)

DSC04131

So when I read today’s first reading, I was reminded by the need to ask God to keep the flame going.

About ten years ago, during a hard time in my work, I felt as if the flame was going out. The passage from Isaiah 42: 3 deeply touched me:

A bruised reed he will not break,
and a dimly burning wick he will not quench.

So I sought out a spiritual director and with her help God rekindled the spark in me.

My move to the countryside herein Honduras has rekindled the spark in me and, even though the cold and rain of January can be difficult and the occasional intestinal problems can wreak havoc on the body, the quiet of this place and the chance to be more involved in the lives of people sparks something within me.

In the midst of dark days, may God stir into flame that spark of God’s love that is at the center of our being.

3 responses to “Stir into flame

  1. Amen, John. Thank you.
    I think that we sometimes overlook the wealth of wisdom and just plain practical advice that are written in the so-called ‘Catholic epistles.’
    ‘Keep on truckin,’ John. Bless you and keep you safe and healthy.

  2. I now have internet service – a little pricey but…

  3. Do you have internet service in the house? I thought you had written that you didn’t. Date: Mon, 26 Jan 2015 13:47:07 +0000 To: jeffcolledge@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

