Surrounded by witnesses

I have been writing little this last week or so, since I am on a pilgrimage/vacation in Italy until this coming Thursday morning.

It has been for me a deeply moving spiritual experience, full of discoveries, personal and other.

An important aspect of the places I’ve visited is how much they reveal that we are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses (Hebrews 12:1).

The sites, especially in Assisi and Rome, are where saints and other witnesses to the God of love and justice had walked.

I have also experienced a call to pray for specific persons at particular places – Franciscan friends in Assisi,, Jesuit friends in the chapel where Ignatius died, a friend who mother is ill in several places.

We are not only surrounded by witnesses; we are called to intercede for those who also surround us.

I’ll have to return to this later, but wanted to note that you are in my prayers as I experience the cloud of witnesses in an special way.

Leave a Reply

