The peace of Epiphany

Salvadoran martyr and archbishop, Monseñor Oscar Romero, spoke of peace in his 1978 Epiphany homily:

Peace is not the product of terror or fear.
Peace is not the silence of cemeteries.
Peace is not the silent result of violent repression.
Peace is the generous, tranquil contribution
of all to the good of all.
Peace is dynamism. Peace is generosity.
It is right and it is duty.
In it each one has a place in this beautiful family,
which the Epiphany brightens for us with God’s light.

May this vision of peace guide us this year.

2 responses to “The peace of Epiphany

  1. I’ve always loved this section of Romero’s homily. On our site, we are trying to honor Romero and his message. Thank you for this.

  2. John – I am reminded of the times that you and others have talked about true peace beginning in ones own heart. This has been brought home for me in a new way the last several weeks as I’ve focused on mindful meditation.

    This practice has required me to slowdown…to listen to the squawking of the many “parts”, if you will, that make a continuous and constant racket in my head. Most notably fear and anxiety. By being in the present moment for a few minutes each day, I’ve become keenly aware of the “fight or flight” mode that I have constantly, yet unconsciously, been in. Not fertile ground to plant the seeds of peace. Always wondering if I am going to be hurt or be at risk of being hurt by taking a certain action or sharing a particular thought.

    Being in this guarded state, I’ve learned that I am more likely to misinterpret words or actions from Laura or the girls that might lead to hurt or an argument. I’ve learned that it has hampered my service to the families served in shelter because at times I am questioning their motives and if they’re being honest when the only information I have comes from the fear and anxiety inside of me.

    As I have entered into the practice of mindfulness these last five weeks, I’ve discovered peace by just being present with those parts that are squawking in my head…observing them in a nonjudgmental way as they pass by…like God observes me. As a parent, the practice reminds me of the interactions I had with the girls when they were younger. If they wanted my attention and I was preoccupied with something else, they’d keep at me and escalating their tone until they got my attention. Once I gave them my attention, peace was restored.

    A peaceful heart is a warm and inviting place…a place I’ve found that I am being called to on a regular basis. More and more as I feel walls coming up in my heart, my first response isn’t “fight or flight” but a gentle nudging to slowdown and come closer…to enter into the peace that fills my heart.

Leave a Reply

