St. Brigid: beer and the poor

Today the Irish celebrate St. Bridget of Ireland, who lived between 450 and 525. There are many delightful stories about this Irish nun, including one that claims a bishop ordained her!

But there is a beautiful prayer of hers, a description of what heaven might be for the saintly Irish:

I should like a great lake of beer for the King of Kings.
I should like the angels of Heaven to be drinking it
through time eternal.
I should like excellent meats of belief and pure piety.
I should like flails of penance at my house.
I should like the men of Heaven at my house;
I should like barrels of peace at their disposal;
I should like vessels of charity for distribution;
I should like cheerfulness to be in their drinking.
I should like Jesus to be there among them.
I should like the three Marys of illustrious renown to be with us.
I should like the people of Heaven, the poor,
to be gathered around us from all parts.

Note that there is not only beer in heaven but the poor have a special place.

Sláinte!

Leave a Reply

