Letting the poor evangelize us

The lowly will ever find joy in the LORD,
and the poor rejoice in the Holy One of Israel.
Isaiah 29: 19

 On December 2, 1980, four US missionaries in El Salvador were killed by government forces. Maryknoll Sisters Maura Clarke, M.M., and  Ita Ford, M.M., Ursuline Sister Dorothy Kazel, O.S.U., and lay missionary Jean Donovan, are among the tens of thousands killed in El Salvador, many of whom were people of deep faith, committed to the cause of the poor.

These US martyrs allowed themselves to hear the cry of the poor and respond in love and in the pursuit of justice. They give us an example of how to be good news to the poor.

As Sister Ita Ford once wrote:

 “Am I willing to suffer with the people here, the suffering of the powerless, the feeling impotent. Can I say to my neighbors — I have no solutions to the situation, I don’t know the answers, but I will walk with you, be with you. Can I let myself be evangelized by this opportunity? Can I look at and accept my own poorness and learn from other poor ones?”

Leave a Reply

