Forgiveness

Fr. Lawrence Martin Jenco, O.S.M., Servite priest, was a hostage in Lebanon. The experience did not harden him but opened him up to a deep forgiveness. As he wrote in Bound to Forgive:

“Some people advise me to forgive and forget. They do not realize that this is almost impossible. Jesus, the wounded healer, asks us to forgive, but he does not ask us to forget. That would be amnesia. He does demand we heal our memories.
“I don’t believe that forgetting is one of the signs of forgiveness. I forgive, but I remember. I do not forget the pain, the loneliness, the ache, the terrible injustice. But I do not remember it to inflict guilt or some future retribution. Having forgiven, I am liberated. I need no longer be determined by the past. I move into the future free to imagine new possibilities.”

He died in Illinois, on July 17, 1996.

Leave a Reply

