The truly wise

“Father, Lord of heaven and earth,
I praise you,
because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned
and revealed them to simple people.”
Matthew 11: 25 

In a world that values degrees and scientific knowledge, these words of Jesus seem absurd. But in my experience here in Honduras there is a wisdom that I find in the poor campesinos I meet, an openness to see the presence of God in everything, and an ability to cut through the propaganda of the politicians and the press and see the poverty and injustice.

I know some who insist that the way out of poverty for Honduras is more education. As a highly educated North-American, I might be expected to agree. But it’s not knowledge alone that is needed but the wisdom of the poor, the wisdom that sees God’s call to look first to the needs of the poorest.

And so today I will try to listen to the poor, to their wisdom, in order to hear the voice of God.

A question for my readers: When was the last time you listened to a poor person?

Leave a Reply

